Competitions & Awards

Throughout the club year Coventry Amatateur Radio Society hold several competitions, as well as other awards. Details of these are:

Alphabet Contest (Orbis Vocum Trophy)

The Orbis Vocum Trophy is awarde annually to paid-up members of the society. The objective is to form the letters of the alphabet by taking the initial letter of the actual QTH of the station worked. Rules and a Claim Sheet can be downloaded from the Club Documents Page

Previous Winners have been:

2009 - G4GEE
2010 - G4GEE
2011 - M0CAR

G2FTK Memorial Trophy

This trophy is awarded in memory of Arthur Noakes, G2FTK, who was a member of the society from its founding in 1932 until July 2008.

The trophy is awarded to the person who has contributed most to the promotion of the society's aims in the current society year.

Nominations for the award can be made by any two paid up members of the society on a claim form supplied by the Secretary. The submission should explain the reasons for the nomination.

Claims must be submitted to the Secretary by 31st July.

In the event there is more than one nomination the committee shall discuss the nominated persons and decide upon the winner. The reasons for the choice will be made at the annual dinner.

Previous winners have been:

2009 - 2010 G8SEQ & G8GMU
2010 - 2011 G1ORG & 2E0HOW
2011 - 2012 M0IRT

Godiva Award

This award is available to all licensed amateurs and short wave listeners with a certificate being awarded. Details of how to achieve the award are given in the downloadable document;

2M Direction Finding

The society holds a number of 2 metre 'fox hunts' during the year. These all start from St Bartholomew's Church Hall on a Friday evening with the fox (station to be found) located according to the rules below. No special equipment is required to take part with many society members just using a hand held transceiver, compass, pencil, ruler and a copy of the OS map 140. These events are open to team entrants or individuals, so why not have a go? Dates for events will be announced in the clubs programme of events.

A copy of the Rules, Scoring and Past Winners can be downloaded from the Club Documents Page